Raise high the roof beam, carpenters

My favorite passage from Raise High got stuck in my head, so my interpretation is here:

And the only other thing of worth i did today was to have a few slices at my favorite pizza joint, Tony’s in Ventura:

Simply the best. Thank you Tony!!

And i’ll leave you with a short Bukowski:

“your poems about the girls will still be around
50 years from now when the girls are all gone,”
my editor phones me.

dear editor:
the girls appear to be gone
already.

I know what you mean

but give me one truly alive woman
tonight
walking across the floor toward me

and you can have all the poems

the good ones
the bad ones
or any that i might write
after this one.

I know what you mean.

do you know what i mean?

Leave a Reply

